Ministerial Identity: Once a pastor, always a pastor

As mentioned in the previous post, three significant resolutions were acted upon by the CBMA Assembly in 2006 related to ministerial identity.

Foremost, was the Ministers Code of Ethics. It was drafted in 2003 during the term of my predecessor, Rev. Jerson B. Narciso. Based on the record, the committee was composed of Dr. Nestor D. Bunda, Pastor Rea Angelica D. Faulan, and Rev. Samuel G. Talha. While it was deliberated during the January 23, 2003, the resolution was not approved due to some unresolved issues. However, with the formulation of the vision-mission statement and subsequent 7 year strategic framework in 2005, it was given top priority being on the first letter of the acronym MINISTER.

Code of ethics

The Code of Ethics was revised (with format change and label through an acrostic method as recommended) by the CBMA Council of Elders. Chaired by Dr. Domingo J. Diel, Jr., the members were Rev. Lolita T. Dais, Prof. Lucy L. de la Fuente, Prof. Lydia B. Francia, Rev. Rafael B. Gicana, Rev. Amsil P. Alubog, and Rev. Arsenio G. Llamas, Jr. The revision was ratified during the 65th CBMA National Assembly at Camp Higher Ground January 26, 2006.


Aside from the ratification of the Code of Ethics, two related actions were done. A resolution was acted upon which sealed off the perennial debate on pastoral identity which caused irritants and divided the pastors for decades. This was done after the panel discussion on the presentation of Rev Joniel Howard H. Gico, Vice President for Administration of CPU on faces of Pastoral Identity. It was resolved to recognize ministers as “Pastors” whether they work in churches, church related institutions, government, and NGOs. Criteria, categorization and guidelines were also made. Moreover, there was an understanding that the title must be spelled out not abbreviated like PTR, or Pas or Tor because the title carries the function.

It was also the year when the ministerial vestment was implemented. This serves as official uniform of Baptist Pastors under the Convention of Philippine Baptist Churches(CPBC). The committee that made the research and design was chaired by Dr. Domingo J. Diel Jr. Members were Pastor Prima Formilleza, Prof. Melanie Catolico, Dr. Armando S. Kole, Rev. Lolita Dais, Prof. Grace Reyes.

Symbols and colors have the following meaning: Dove– Holy Spirit; Empty Cross– Christ has risen; Icthus (fish)- early symbol for Christian religion; Fire– refining fire/ Holy Spirit. Purple stands for Trinity; White for Purity; Blue for Virginity; Red for Love. The embroidered logo represents membership/affiliation, as follows, CBMA, CPBC, National Council of Churches in the Philippine (NCCP).


About edwin lariza

University Professor. Registered Social Worker. Ordained Minister. Advocate of volunteerism, spirituality and networking for holistic development.
This entry was posted in Breakthrough, Code of Ethics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ministerial Identity: Once a pastor, always a pastor

  1. Thank you for posting these important notes on ministerial identity. Now, I learned that the pastoral calling and identity is not confined within your own country. Once a pastor, you are a pastor wherever you are. Beyond the ministerial symbols is a life committed to serve our Lord and Master Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s